Two Views Of America

(3)Today if you look at the election process you will clearly see White Supremacy on full display. The Donald exhibits all of the characteristics. His main claim is that “the system if rigged” when in fact he has gotten and taken advantage of privilege at every step and stage of his life. I was talking to a white friend a few days ago, and trying to impress upon me how fortunate “your people” are to live free in America, which is now a post-racial society and the usual proof bigots give is that we have a black president. Another old standby came from her lips; “we have problems, but it’s not as bad as it was”. She has no sense that it was her people who made it bad in the first place. To say that I was shocked in an understatement!

I sat back and enjoyed the foolishness of her thoughts, which was rooted in what they hold so dear – “privilege”! Then, of course, she tried to play the race card using Ben Carson to show as some kind of proof. I continued to hear the usual; you people should be proud to be an American. I guess she thought I was buying this nonsense, so she brought up the Donald. OMG!

She went on to quote Dr. Woodson saying that “Regardless of what we are taught history shows that it does not matter who is in power… those who have not learned to do for themselves and have to depend solely on others never obtain any more rights or privileges in the end than they did in the beginning.” I could not see how this proved her point, but it was entertaining. My sense was that this meant they are taking their country back!

It amazed me that someone who smiled in my face would present me with this conclusion, particularly, when you look at the state of race relations in America today on every level. Black people and people of color are at the top of every negative category across the board; be it unemployment, healthcare, housing, education, you name it. She is trying to educate me, say things have changed, and that I should support Trump.

As she rambled, she must have begun to realize she sounded more and more like someone from “Masters Time.” She started to realize that I was not buying her argument at all. So she reached deep and went Martin Luther King saying he would support Trump. Now the militant in me came forward. I remained her that Dr. King’s legacy her been reduced and sanitized down to four words – “I have a dream”. She seemed to know nothing about COINTELPRO, the lynchings, murders, slavery or that her people done for centuries.

I know she thought, like most, that her evidence that there is no longer any racism sounded good, but the reality is not much has changed. Yes, we do have a “Black Face” in the White House, and I am glad to have lived long enough to have witnessed this phenomenal event. Especially when no one living or dead would have ever thought that a black president would ever live in the White House as president. Nonetheless, I took the opportunity to remind her of what Carter G. Woodson said in 1933 in his still relevant novel “The Mis-Education of the Negro:

“History shows that it does not matter who is in power… those who have not learned to do for themselves and have to depend solely on others never obtain any more rights or privileges in the end than they did in the beginning.” In the same novel, he also reminded us that “if you control what a man is thinking you don’t have to worry about what he thinks”.

So it was time for the smackdown and let her know that she make as about much sense as the Donald – nothing has changed. I can recall in my lifetime where the “N-Word” was the last thing a black man or woman, heard before being lynched. I remember vividly the KKK terrorizing black communities burning down houses and bombings churches under the protection of law; this is also to include murder with no justice for the crime. These cowards held down and raped black women for amusement.

They, society, white people, the Republican and Tea Party is not that much different than the old Citizens Counsels. Today, the police still act in many ways under a similar code; they can “Stop and Frisk” you at their pleasure, beat and brutalize, and kill with no repercussions. The Prison Industrial Complex where you find “Just Us” is big business filled with 21st Century Slaves trade on the Stock Market; just like slaves were back in the day. Yet, Stand Your Ground is nothing more than vigilante justice for people who reflect her image.

African Americans have been here since August of the year 1619, and they are still debating whether or not we can vote. Just for clarity, every so many years that portion of the Voting Rights Act must be reauthorized and signed into law, and in the span of time between re-authorization they try every trick imaginable to suppress the vote. Then she stopped me to say that the Constitution protects all Americans, which I suppose was her trump card. So I quickly reminded her that it still says people of color are you viewed as – 3/5 human.

I suggested to her that she might want to be rational and return to earth and stop using the meaningless and false impressions because we know better! There’s no such thing as “post-racial” it is just racism. Just before she stormed off; I reminded her that I knew Jim Crow and his son, James Crow Jr. Esq. continues the mission of his father in ways more clever and wicked than his namesake. And that’s my Thought Provoking Perspective…

About Thought Provoking Perspectives

Welcome to Thought Provoking Perspectives a blog designed to be a potent source of empowering knowledge to broaden the information base with those who share my passion for the written word and the empowerment of thought. View all posts by Thought Provoking Perspectives

One response to “Two Views Of America

Leave a Reply

