Ball Of Confusion

trumpI watched as white folk, mostly, pick their champion to be president of their movement to take back their country, which is little more than a revived edition of the Citizens Counsel of a day I thought had long past. If I can quote James Brown, all I have heard is a lot of “talking loud and saying nothing.” I think anything he say will be realized the day Jesus returns!

As I witness this disaster, I likened to the days of Richard Nixon, only on steroids, we will hear him say, I am sure, “I am not a crook.” This guy reminds me of the character from the Wizard of Oz – when you look behind the curtain; you find there is nothing there. Both of these comparisons are very appropriate moving into this new era of the Republican agendas and their efforts to make America White Again!

The Republicans want to go back to this mythical time of the past when they abused the lives of people and the system for their benefit. However, this time they envision was not a good period of time for most, particularly, black people! I will borrow some words from a hit song of the sixties Ball of Confusion; “Segregation, determination, demonstration, Integration, aggravation, Humiliation.” So where is the obligation to the nation?

As I thought more about the words of that song I recalled these words: “An eye for an eye. A tooth for a tooth. Vote for me, and I’ll set you free.” Am I the only one who heard a dog whistle – “Make America Great, ” and we know what that means! Coupled with their constant theme “take our country back” tells us that we will not be set free but rather enslaved sort of like what was do during Reconstruction. And we know how that turned out! So the band plays the same old tune.

Eve of destruction, tax deduction
City inspectors, bill collectors
Mod clothes in demand,
Population out of hand
Suicide, too many bills, hippies movin’
To the hills
People all over the world, are shoutin’
End the war

Air pollution, revolution, gun control,
Sound of soul
Shootin’ rockets to the moon
Kids growin’ up too soon
Politicians say more taxes will
Solve everything
And the band played on…

So round ‘n’ round ‘n’ round we go where the world’s headed, nobody knows. The Republicans are singing the same old tune – “take from the needy and give to the greedy”. So to Trump and the gang your platform is Just a Ball of Confusion. Oh yea, that’s what the world is today. And that’s my Thought Provoking Perspective…

About Thought Provoking Perspectives

Welcome to Thought Provoking Perspectives a blog designed to be a potent source of empowering knowledge to broaden the information base with those who share my passion for the written word and the empowerment of thought. View all posts by Thought Provoking Perspectives

Leave a Reply

