Who Or What Is God?

1One of life’s eternal and important questions has been since the beginning of time is the question who or what is GOD? God is conceived of as the Supreme Being and the principal object of faith. The concept of God as described by most theologians include the attributes of infinite knowledge, unlimited power, present everywhere, being all things good, and as having an eternal necessary existence to which most religions refer to God in such terms as “Him” or “Father”.

I don’t know for sure, if the creator is a male or female, its gender or race, and frankly, if he or she even exists but I do know something greater than a human created the universe and the many marvels therein. The problem I think is that of the 1500 different religions, most have chosen or created their own version of God and this makes for fraud and deception. To that point, I have known many so-called messengers or chosen people supposedly sent to deliver his “Word of God” and most were poor excuses for human beings; let alone people of moral standing.

I can remember a preacher when I was a child, who was nothing but a hustler told me “son I do this because there is a lot of money in the word of God”. I never understood this until I was a grown and a businessman, which exposed me to the corruption in the system of faith. They, most, are trained to take from the needy to benefit the greedy and this can be done by using the word God and it works. I don’t know anyone God has spoken too – not one man ever and if these folk tell you God did – they are lying.

I will readily admit that I am suspicious of white folk; they have never told us the truth about anything. During slavery, they made people slaves, beat, raped, hung, and worked black people to death with a promise that when they die they would go to a special place where they will get their reward. So why should I expect them to tell the truth concerning my salvation? When there is talk of God it is usually a focus on the sky, where there is supposedly a place called heaven. I don’t want to offend anyone but for all the people who claim to be godly and think they are going to heaven – I don’t want to go to that place if they are going to this mythical place!

In some religions, God is not believed to exist, while God is deemed unknown or unknowable within the context of agnosticism. God has also been conceived as the source of all moral obligations to the “greatest conceivable existent”. Many notable philosophers and humans have developed arguments for and against the existence of God. In fact, there have been men who actually convince other men and women that they were actually God in the flesh!

Hence, there are many names for God and different names are attached to different cultural ideas about God’s identity and attributes. In the ancient times, in Egypt, possibly the earliest recorded monotheistic religion, this deity was called Aten with the premise of being the one “true” Supreme Being and creator of the universe. In the Hebrew Bible and Judaism, “He Who Is”, “I Am that I Am”, and the Hebrew says “I am who I am”; “He Who Exists” are used as names of God, while Yahweh and Jehovah are sometimes used, whereas in the Christian doctrine of the Trinity, God, consubstantial in three persons, is called the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Muslims have a multitude of titular names for God, namely Allah.

There are many different conceptions of God and competing claims as to what or who God is, which is confounding in many ways. For me, being suspicious of white folk, it appears they wrote the biblical stories or more likely stole the words from another culture, project the image of God being white with all the angel white suggest something is amidst at work. Many perennial philosophies, which believe that there is one underlying theological truth, of which all religions express a partial understanding; “the devout in the various great world religions are in fact worshipping that one God but through different, overlapping concepts or mental images of Him.

I know there are some willing workers out there who can enlighten me on this topic! Can you explain to me what is your relationship to God and tell me who he or she is? Thoughtfully, submitted with hope that someone can answer the question. Personally, I am of the opinion that “if you know thyself you will then know God”! And that’s my thought provoking perspective…

About Thought Provoking Perspectives

Welcome to Thought Provoking Perspectives a blog designed to be a potent source of empowering knowledge to broaden the information base with those who share my passion for the written word and the empowerment of thought. View all posts by Thought Provoking Perspectives

2 responses to “Who Or What Is God?

  • Xena

    Re:

    ” Can you explain to me what is your relationship to God and tell me who he or she is? “

    Hope I don’t get into trouble for this. LOL! My relationship with God is personal. I am enchristed. I don’t like using the word “Christian” because man has tainted it with his denominations and doctrines.

    I cannot think of a time when I did not know God. He is the spirit of life, love, forgiveness, compassion, mercy and grace.

    I know this does not meet the standard of Old Testament believers, but even Jesus said that all before him were thieves and robbers. They stole a truth about God without us noticing, or took truth away by force, such as fear. Jesus said that he is the true witness of the Father, so if we want to know who God is and what he is like, we look to Christ.

    Jesus also said that only the Father is good. Thus, any good that we witness of another is God in them, regardless of their religious label, beliefs, or no beliefs. Because I believe this, there are some Christians who consider me to be a heretic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

